Pittsburgh then and now (including a few pictures)

Image

The above photo is from 1912 and is courtesy of the University of Pittsburgh.

Image

This photo is from Pittsburgh’s Point State Park. It was taken with my crappy camera phone. My point and shoot recently bit the dust. I’m hoping to replace it soon.

This post is going to be a little bit of everything.

Even though I lived in Pittsburgh’s suburbs for years I always wanted to live downtown. I now do with my fiancée and it has been everything we hoped…

We live in a hundred year old building in the center of Pittsburgh’s Golden Triangle downtown. There has been a huge jazz festival right outside our front door and we’ve had a blast spending a day in the rain celebrating gay pride. We’ve watched fireworks from our deck with great friends and have relaxed in the sun outside PNC Park.

One of my ultimate goals is to give back to Pittsburgh somehow. There are a number of organizations that work towards developing professional and cultural opportunities in the city. I normally list them on my Twitter account but the Pittsburgh Downtown Partnership and the Pittsburgh Cultural Trust are a few.

I’m looking to specifically talk to someone from the Urban Redevelopment Authority.

On a few different notes:

Tuesday night should be incredible. I am a huge baseball fan and my Pirates are in the playoffs for the first time in 20 years. Something like this comes along once in a lifetime. Make sure we have PNC Park going crazy, Pittsburgh!

Is Pittsburgh one of the most haunted cities in the country? I’ve got a few examples of paranormal electronic voice phenomena (EVP) on my Soundcloud and Tumblr accounts. Take a walk through Pittsburgh’s Allegheny Cemetery sometime…you may be surprised at what you hear. I have an EVP from there that I will post later in October.

Leave a Reply

