my top 10 Pittsburgh photos from 2014 and a few thoughts…

I hope you had a great – or are having a great – holiday season! Thank you for stopping by my blog for my end of 2014 wrap up.

If you are new to my corner of cyberspace, my wife and I live in downtown Pittsburgh and love it. We are just a few people out of thousands that are choosing to live in the urban core of the city. The efforts to modernize the quality of life have paid off dramatically and we wanted to be a part of it. While there is still work to be done, there have been many successes over the last five years.

I wanted to do two posts to reflect back on our experiences over the last 12 months. This post will be a listing of – in my opinion – the top 10 photos I took of/from/in downtown. I take all my shots with my Galaxy Note 3…but I’m hoping to get an up-to-date DSLR in 2015. My thoughts on the second end-of-year post will be below the photography šŸ™‚

Number 10:

Took this from one of my favorite places in downtown...

Took this from one of my favorite places in downtown…

No. 9

This made it into one of the Pittsburgh Downtown Partnership's contests...they should hold more!

This made it into one of the Pittsburgh Downtown Partnership’s contests…they should hold more!

No. 8

I've always loved walking through the overpass tunnel to get to Point State Park...

I’ve always loved walking through the overpass tunnel to get to Point State Park…

No. 7

I love the old settler's cemetery in downtown. Some online descriptions call it the oldest unreconstructed spot in downtown

I love the old settler’s cemetery in downtown. Some online descriptions call it the oldest unreconstructed spot in downtown

No. 6

sunset from the point

I took this for a weekly wordpress photo challenge themed “Grand!”…

No. 5

I love this shot for some reason. It was the beginning of a "snowmageddon"

I love this shot for some reason. It was the beginning of a “snowmageddon”

No. 4

skyscrapers pittsburgh

Jess loves this photo…

No. 3

This was near our old apartment in downtown...

This was near our old apartment in downtown…

No. 2

wpid-20140215_105011.jpg

A few people have asked me how these trees stay in bloom during the winter…

No. 1

this was at our Christmas party. She is kissing our friends' baby :)

this was at our Christmas party. She is kissing our friends’ baby šŸ™‚

Here are the honorable mentions:

downtown pittsburgh from mellon square

Not even going to tell you how I took this one...

Not even going to tell you how I took this one…

This is unfiltered...I just love the colors

This is unfiltered…I just love the colors

Love this shot of Jess

Love this shot of Jess

The runners loved it when I appeared in our apartment window haha

The runners loved it when I appeared in our apartment window haha

This was during the Pittsburgh Jazz Festival. her twitter handle is @pghfiregirl

This was during the Pittsburgh Jazz Festival. her twitter handle is @pghfiregirl

I love the age progression between the three graves. This is at the settler's cemetery in downtown.

I love the age progression between the three graves. This is at the settler’s cemetery in downtown.

Another one during the Pittsburgh Jazz Festival

Another one during the Pittsburgh Jazz Festival

Jess Before Gay Pride Parade Pittsburgh

Jess getting ready to march in the Gay Pride parade with Uber

Pittsburgh International Jazz Festival

Pittsburgh International Jazz Festival

Sunset from a rooftop in downtown Pittsburgh

Sunset from a rooftop in downtown Pittsburgh

Make sure to also visit these good friends for other ways to celebrate Pittsburgh:

Friendly Pittsburgh Foodie

Yajagoff

Pittsburgh Mommy Blog

Buses Are Bridges

The Pittsburgh Comet

The Foodtasters

Everybody Loves Alex

Dave Dicello

Vision Inc Media Group

I love our city. One of my favorite parts of downtown living are the summertime events and things like the Cultural Trust’s First Night 2015. They bring together an audience that only wants to have fun and celebrate for reasons other than the Steelers, Pirates and Penguins. Don’t get me wrong – I am a HUGE Pittsburgh sports fan – but thriving cities need more than that. They need access to transportation (which makes me thankful the North shore T station will continue to be subsidized by the Steelers), cultural events and an increasing tax base. The downtown core of Pittsburgh will only continue to grow – and increase opportunity for city residents – if small businesses and startups are supported by Pittsburghers primarily with government watching very closely.

The city has been distressed for such a long period of time, I sometimes get the impression Pittsburghers want everything to change immediately since money and opportunity seem to be flowing organically to the city. I’ve seen statistics that state that areas of the city that are under the poverty live doubled over the last 30 years…all while other statistics show we got through the 70s and 80s steel industry downtown with a lower unemployment rate that Detroit has now (considering the economics that followed the steel industry’s collapse I think that’s a very relevant point). I would like to see a comprehensive timeline of the areas of the city that were under the poverty line between 1970 and now compared to employment numbers with the steel industry collapse.

I’ll leave that as a segue into my next post. I try to keep things on this blog as a pure celebration of the city’s success, history and future but I have some thoughts on local politics moving into 2015…

4 thoughts on “my top 10 Pittsburgh photos from 2014 and a few thoughts…

Leave a Reply

